Classified and protected nature sites 


The Haute-Vienne has 75 listed natural sites and 4 classified sites (Dauges peat bog, Astroblème de Chassenon, the old cemetery at Chalard, Nieul château park).


Landes du Clureau et de la Flotte


Definition: established by Decree N° 77-1295 of 25 November 1977 then pursuant to the act N° 76-129 of 10 July 1976 (art. R.411-15 and seq. of the French Environmental Code), it allows the Prefect to install, by decree, measures aimed at conserving, in all or part, of the département  the  biotopes necessary to the feeding, reproduction, rest or survival of protected species. 

The Haute-Vienne has 7 biotope decrees:

- The Gartempe River (Balledent, Bussière-Poitevine, Chateauponsac, Croix-sur-Gartempe (La), Darnac, Droux, Peyrat-de-Bellac, Rancon, Saint-Bonnet-de-Bellac, Saint-Ouen-sur-Gartempe, Saint-Sornin-la-Marche),

- The Ceinturat at Cieux peat bog,

- The la Flotte and the Cluzeau serpentines at Château-Chervix, Meuzac,

- The Saint-Laurent moor at La Roche l’Abeille,

- The Pierres du Mas serpentines at La Porcherie,

- The Crouzille Lake at Saint-Sylvestre,

- The Epagne forest in the Creuse and the Haute-Vienne (Creuse: Saint-Martin-Sainte-Catherine, Saint-Pierre-Chérignat and the Haute-Vienne: Sauviat-sur-Vige).


Natura 2000, Habitats Directive:

Definition:  the action undertaken by the European Union favouring the preservation of biological diversity based in particular on the creation of a coherent ecological network of areas named “Natura 2000” established by the directive 92/43/EEC of 21 May 1992 concerning the conservation of natural habitats as well as the wild fauna and flora.

The Natura 2000 network comprises of two types of zones: Special Protection Areas (SPAs) and Special Areas of Conservation (SACs)

Etang de Mussac Lussac les EglisesList of the 12 sites:

- Lakes in the North of the Haute-Vienne

- Source of the Dauges stream peat bog,

- Serpentinicoles grassland and moors in the South of the Haute-Vienne,

- La Pouge Lake,

- Chabannes Mine and underground the monts d’Ambazac,

- Moissanes stream,

- The Haute Dronne river system,

- Moors and wetlands around Vassivière Lake (Creuse/Haute-Vienne)

- Taurion Valley and its tributaries (Creuse/Haute-Vienne)

- Gartempe Valley along all its length and tributaries (Creuse/Haute-Vienne)

- Haute vallée de la Vienne (Corrèze/Creuse/Haute-Vienne)

- Epagne forest (Creuse/Haute-Vienne)


Natura 2000, Birds Directive:

Millevaches Plateau


The 2 Regional Nature Parks (RNP): 

Regional nature parks serve the policy of protecting the environment, improvement of the region, economic and social development and education and training of the public. The constitutive charter is drawn up by the region in agreement with all the local actors concerned.

It is adopted by decree establishing the classification as a regional nature park for a maximum duration of twelve years. Revision of the charter is carried out by the managing agent of regional nature park (art. L.333.1 of the French Environmental Code).

There are two regional nature parks in the Haute-Vienne, the Périgord-Limousin Regional Nature Park and the Millevaches in the Limousin Nature Park.



Definition: a national nature reserve (formally nature reserve) is a defined zone protected by law to ensure the conservation of elements of the natural environment of national interest or the implementation of community regulations or an obligation resulting from an international convention

List of the reserves:

– The Dauges peat bog at St-Léger-la-Montagn

– The Rochechouart-Chassenon Astrobleme (Haute-vienne et Charente).



Monnerie Lake


Natural zone of ecological interest, fauna and flora (NZEIFF)

Definition: an inventory of natural zones of ecological interest, fauna and flora (NZEIFF) was launched in 1982 by the Minister of the Environment. The goal of this undertaking was to produce an inventory for the entire country, areas of greater ecological interest mainly with a view to improving the knowledge of national natural heritage and to provide to different decision-makers a tool to help them take into account the environment in the development of their territory.

These zones are classified into two types:

  • The type I zones, are areas of great biological interest and deserve special attention 

during the creation of any development and management programs. 

  • The ZNIEFF type II zones have great rich natural interest, or slightly modified, which

have important biological potential and must be systematically taken into account during

development programmes.

The Haute-Vienne has 105 listed as NZEIFF; view the details on the DREAL (regional

environment directorate) Limousin website.


Contact and information sources:​
DREAL Limousin - Immeuble PASTEL
CS 53218 22 rue des Pénitents Blancs, 87032 Limoges cedex 1
Tél : 05 55 12 90 00 - Fax : 05 55 12 96 66

Public opening times: Monday to Friday from 8:30 AM to 12:30 PM and 1:30 PM to 5 PM except Friday at 4 PM.